2008 Official Tournament Results

On Wednesday, November 12th, the 8th Annual Racers’ Invitational Fishing Tournament unfolded at the Holiday Isle Resort and Marina in Islamorada, Florida, set amidst the stunning Florida Keys. NASCAR sponsors, inspectors, and crew members joined forces for a spirited Backcountry Classic, marking the exciting commencement of Ford NASCAR Championship Week at the Homestead-Miami Speedway.

The Tournament Director, Drew Patey, presented distinctive commemorative trophies crafted by renowned nautical artist Carey Chen to both the anglers and event sponsors. A heartfelt acknowledgment goes to John Gorsline of Gorsline Company, Jim Kosto of New Pig Corporation, Andrew Campagnone of the Wunderman Agency, and Holiday Isle Resort for their generous support of the event. The Racers Invitational Fishing Tournament serves as a valuable contribution to the Islamorada Charterboat Association.

Backcountry Podium Finishers

Left to right: Captain Scott Keller, Angler Tim, Tournament Director – Drew Patey and winning the 2008 Racers Invitational Fishing Tournament in Islamorada, Florida
 is Mark Wilkinson from Hendrick Motorsports.
  • First Place Backcountry Angler – Mark Wilkinson and co-angler Tim from Hendrick Motorsports fishing with Capt. Scott Keller scored 7,700 points
  • Second Place Backcountry Angler – Joey Denowitz from Team Muffin/Sparco fishing with Capt Kitto scored 6,050 points
  • Third Place Backcountry Angler – Dan Griswold and co-angler Yvonne from the NASCAR Truck Series fishing with Capt. Kerry Wingo scored 5,300 points